EXTENSION OF APPOINTMENTS OF INDEPENDENT AND PARISH COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE MEMBERS ON STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Contact Officer: David Ruddock Ext: 3252

Email:

david ruddock@wycombe.gov.uk

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Committee is advised to RECOMMEND to Council that:

The appointment of the following independent members on the Standards Committee be extended until the 30 June 2012 or, if later, the date upon which Standards Committees formed under existing legislation are abolished:

Revd G Hargrove Mr B Morgan-Timms Mr D G Sainsbury Mrs E Springford

The appointment of the following Parish Council Representative Members on the Standards Committee be extended until 30 June 2012 or, if later, the date upon which Standards Committees formed under existing legislation are abolished:

Parish Councillor D Banfield Parish Councillor J Sherlock Parish Councillor Mrs V Smith

Corporate Implications

The procedure for appointment of independent members is set out in The Standards Committee (England) Regulations 2008.

Generally speaking, appointments must be approved by full Council following advertisement in one or more newspapers circulating in the authority's area and in such other publications or websites as the Council considers appropriate. Appointments can generally only be made of a person who has not been a member or officer of the Council during the past 5 years and of a person who has submitted an application to the Council.

Standards for England have issued guidance to the effect that given the current uncertainty concerning the future of the current standards regime, the term of office of existing independent members can be extended, provided they were appointed in accordance with the above legislative requirements at the time, and provided the extension is granted before the expiry of their existing term of office. Authorities have much greater flexibility in how they go about appointing Parish Council Member representatives on the Standards Committee.

Detailed Report

The terms of office of all independent members on the Standards Committee and all Parish Council Member representatives on the Standards Committee come to an end at the Annual Council meeting in May 2011, at which meeting they were re-appointed until Annual Council May 2012 or, if earlier, the date upon which the Standards Committees under existing legislation are abolished. This abolition has not yet occurred but is scheduled for 30th June 2012.

In light of this, the Committee is advised to recommend to the Full Council at its meeting on 11 April 2011 that the appointments of:

Revd G Hargrove
Mr B Morgan-Timms
Mr D G Sainsbury
Mrs E Springford
Parish Councillor D Banfield
Parish Councillor J Sherlock
Parish Councillor Mrs V Smith

be extended until the 30th June 2012 or, if later, the date upon which Standards Committees formed under existing legislation are abolished. The Members concerned have indicated a willingness to continue for such period.